What’s on Jen’s back?

Many people are curious as to what we are bringing with us for a year of travel.  In short, the answer is a backpack full of clothes, toiletries, and gear.

FOR HER:

IMG_2207

All of my clothes!

At this point, I think I could probably get rid of half of the clothes that I brought, but it’s pretty light and not taking up much room.  I can always ditch what find that I don’t need or don’t want as I go.

TOPS:

IMG_2206

Long sleeve:  long sleeve Icebreakers tshirt (doubles as long underwear), Patagonia mid layer

T shirts: 2 Old Navy cotton Tshirts, 2 Icebreakers tshirts, workout shirt, collared safari shirt

Tanks:  3 Patagonia keyhole tank tops, 1 striped tank

BOTTOMS:

IMG_2205

3 pairs of pants:  Jeans, cargo/hiking pants, leggings/yoga pants

3 pairs of shorts:  jorts, pink Patagonia, mesh workout shorts

2 skirts:  grey Icebreakers, black Patagonia (which doubles as a going-out top!)

DRESSES:

IMG_2186

Black Icebreakers dress, long blue dress (doubles as maxi skirt), pink tube dress

SHOES

IMG_2178

Four pairs – trail running shoes, Chacos, Tieks leather flats, and flip flops

JACKETS:

IMG_2201 - Copy - Copy

Patagonia rain jacket, Icebreakers hooded thin jacket, Patagonia micropuff

TOILETRIES:

IMG_2208

IMG_2194

BAGS:

IMG_2211

Purse and beach/grocery/plane bag

SUN AND WIND:

IMG_2202

Bathing suit, hat and gloves, visor, adorable headbands (if I do say so myself…)

GEAR:

IMG_2180

IMG_2179

Sleeping bag, towel (thanks, Sarah!), headlamp, sleeping liner AND THE PACK!

Of course, I have a few personal items that I won’t show here, but (spoiler!) I have 10 pairs of underwear.

*Note on sleeping bag:  After a lot of thought and research, we decided to bring the tent and sleeping bag with us to Africa and then mail it to Australia, for the New Zealand part of the trip.  We can ditch them after New Zealand or Patagonia.

See Jon’s post for electronics, etc!

One thought on “What’s on Jen’s back?”

  1. Update on this:

    Overall, I packed well! I lost one hiking shoe in Africa, replaced in Australia. (whole pair 🙂 Grey skirt shipped home. Long dress was shipped home – not worn enough. Replaced with an amazing comfortable and convertible dress by Elan (sent from my wonderful friend, Hiwot!) I also had a scarf that was replaced with a thicker scarf for New Zealand cold. Otherwise, this is a good amount of clothes!

Leave a Reply

